My Personalized Word Cloud Portrait!

cloud9391Earlier this month, while attending the Annual Conference of the Special Libraries Association (SLA) in San Diego, Califorornia, the New York Times was offering to create a personalized word cloud portrait for conference goers.  So, I stopped by their booth, had my photo taken, and then selected the “travel” section of the NYT to populate the word cloud.  I could have selected any “section” from the paper (the other sections that I considered: the Arts and Sports).  I even got to select the color for the words — I picked green of course, Go Green!  The end result was pretty darn amazing and not too shabby at all.  What a great idea to generate traffic to their booth!  And, what was even better . . . no hard sales pitch whatsoever (my institution already subscribes, so this takes a lot of the sales pressure away from the git-go).  All in all, another fabulous conference.  Next year: Vancouver, I can’t wait!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

