Trivia in the Kitchen, Number Twenty-Two!

I love bread! And there is nothing better, in my opinion, than freshly buttered toast.  And for the years I was running marathons and logging hundreds of miles, the carbohydrates never bothered me. Now that I have cut back on the running a bit, bread and massive amounts of carbohydrates are no longer my friend . . .  I”m going to have to modify/moderate my intake. Did you know that the electric toaster was first invented in the late 1800s (in Britain)?  Early electric toasters only toasted one side of the bread, and did not shut off automatically, which resulted in a lot of burnt toast.  Charles Strite (from Minnesota) invented the “pop-up”  toaster with a timer in 1919.

What small kitchen appliance to you use most?  (I use my hand mixer the most; my toaster is a close second.)

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Trivia in the Kitchen, Number Twenty-Two!”

  1. Uncle Ted Says:

    Happy New Year Tom!

  2. Tom Rink Says:

    Happy New Year to you guys as well.

Leave a Reply

