What Kind of Reader Are You?!

I ran across this wonderful quotation the other day: “I divide all readers into two classes; those who read to remember and those who read to forget.” (William Lyon Phelps).   Depending on what I’m reading (and why), I find myself fitting into both classes.  But, I primarily read “to forget.”  For me, reading is entertainment; an escape from the real world where I can allow my imagination to run wild.  I don’t expect to remember every detail of a novel . . . I hope for the enjoyment of a good story.

Here are a few definitions of reading, readers, and books courtesy of The Cynic’s Dictionary by Aubrey Dillon-Malone.

Reader
“Someone who comes under the protection of the Endangered Species Act.”  (Dennis Potter)

Reading
“An ashamed way of killing time disguised under a dignified name.”  (Ernest Dimnet)

“An ingenious device for drugging thought.”  (Sir Arthur Helps)

Books
“Things printed by people who don’t understand them, sold by people who don’t understand them, read and reviewed by people who don’t understand them, and even written by people who don’t understand them”  (G.C. Lichtenberg)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

