Trivia in the Kitchen, Number Thirty-Seven!

T.V. travel shows like Anthony Bourdain, No Reservations and Have Fork will Travel explore the culture and cuisine of exotic places.  Bizarre Foods with Andrew Zimmern goes even further, seeking out and testing the strangest foods in the world.  What is the strangest food you have encountered?  Are there any exotic foods that you would like to try?

The strangest food that I have encountered in my travels would have to be during my visit to Chile in 1992 — my host never fully disclosed what I was eating, but it was some part of a cow and it definitely was not a steak.  If I were to hazard a guess, I’d say the udder, and it was udderly delicious!  When it comes to eating, I do not consider myself overly adventurous, so there really isn’t anything exotic on my list of “hope to try.”  But you just never know. I have managed to try and like both calamari as well as escargot, who knew?  The key for me to try something unknown is to truly have no idea what I’m eating until after it has been tested.  If I like it, then fine, but sometimes, knowing ahead of time can be enough of a turnoff to prevent me from trying.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

