Managing Your Sweat!

I really should have known this much sooner in my running/exercising career, but alas, I never considered it important enough to actual put pen to paper to arrive at a number needed to stay sufficiently hydrated.  This would account for the occasions (running and hiking) when I found myself cramping toward the end.  No matter how much I thought I was drinking to stay hydrated, it obviously was not enough.

And falling into the category of one who “sweats buckets” (i.e., I sweat a lot! Especially in the summer.), I should have applied this formula much sooner in life.  I’m sure it would have saved me from falling victim to cramps — the ultimate goal hijacker.  So, here’s the formula that I should have consulted years ago . . .

1.  Stand on the scale
Weigh yourself, then do an hour-long race-pace run in temperatures similar to what you will experience at the event (don’t drink [or pee] during this trial).  Upon your return, weigh yourself again.
EXAMPLE:
Weight 1 – 200 pounds
Weight 2 – 197 pounds

2.  Find your sweat rate
Multiply the difference by how many hours it will take you to complete the event.  Divide this total by your starting weight.  This is the percentage of your weight loss.  Subtract two percent.
EXAMPLE:
3 x 2 hours = 6
6/200 = 3%
3%-2% = 1%

3.  Fill your bottles
Multiply this percentage by your starting weight and then multiply this new number by 15.4.  This is the amount of water (in ounces) that you need to drink to ensure your peak performance.
EXAMPLE:
0.01 x 200 = 2
2 x 15.4 = 30.8 ounces.

Source: Men’s Health magazine, May 2015, p. 26.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Managing Your Sweat!”

  1. Jaye Says:

    Great to know there is a formula for this. I use a FitBit but think it is fairly generic in terms of water. I do think they use body weight and other information entered to make it less generic. I think your formula is probably more precise. Thanks!

  2. Tom Rink Says:

    I’m not exactly sure how price (I did not complete any official “due diligence,” but it was printed in a health magazine, so I’m thinking it may be fairly accurate.

Leave a Reply

