Reading . . . Have You Ever Read a Book Twice?!

While I generally read most books only once, I’ve encountered one title (originally published in the late 1970s) that so thoroughly captured my heart and soul that I have read it multiple times (I reread this novel roughly every three or four years).  So, when I ran across the below quotation, I concurred wholeheartedly with the sentiment.

The book: The Far Pavilions
The author: M.M. (Mary Margaret) Kaye
The genre: an epic novel (historical fiction/romance) set during the British occupancy of India.
The enjoyment: never-ending.

“To read a book for the first time is to make an acquaintance with a new friend; to read it for a second time is to meet an old one.”  — Anonymous, Chinese saying

Hmm, it has been a couple of years already since I last read this one . . . perhaps it will soon be time to meet an old friend.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

