This Isn’t Missouri, But . . .!

 

Missouri is commonly known as the “show me” state.  Here are some mathematical “show mes” to perhaps amuse you on this Friday.

  • Show me a man who counts on his fingers;, and I’ll show you a digital computer.
  • Show me a useless exponent and I’ll show you one.
  • Show me how to partition six and I’ll show you how to do it to two, too.
  • Show me a glib salesman and I’ll show you a line.
  • Show me an erratic teenager with no personal income and I’ll show you a dependent variable.
  • Show me a skier in a miscalculated jump and I’ll show you a slope-intercept form.
  • Show me a homicidal hippie and I’ll show you a square shooter.
  • Show me a desegregated school and I’ll show you integration.
  • Show me a nudist colony and I’ll show you some finite differences.
  • Show me some sharp cleavers of the positive  from the negative and I’ll show you axes.
  • Show me a roulette player who likes to play numbers of the form 2n + 1 and I’ll show you a man who has the odds in his favor.
  • Show me a protest march and I’ll show you some radical signs.
  • Show me a brooding hen and I’ll show you a nested set.
  • Show me a police state and I’ll show you the law of the mean.
  • Show me the checkbook balances during a long vacation and I’ll show you a monotonically  decreasing function.

Source: “Mathematics and Humor,” Aggie Vinik, Linda Silvey, and Barnabas Hughes (eds.), p. 27.

For the origin of the “show me” state slogan, check out this article.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

