An Unusual Growth!

I’ve had a mole on my shoulder for as long as I can remember (probably since birth) — it doesn’t hurt, it doesn’t change color or size, it’s just there.  However, a few years ago, I developed a small excrescence on my face to the left of my mouth.  My doctor even froze it off a couple of years ago.  It stayed gone about six month and redeveloped.  Alas, I’m destined to keep it.

excrescence

\ ik-skresuh ns \, noun;

1.  an abnormal outgrowth, usually harmless, on an animal or vegetable body.
2.  a normal outgrowth, as hair or horns.
3.  any disfiguring addition.
4.  abnormal growth or increase.
Here are some wonderful synonyms for this word:
1. caruncle
2. gall
3. knur
4. wattle
Source: The Highly Selective Thesaurus for the Extraordinarily Literate by Eugene Ehrlich
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

