Complaining!

Happy Memorial Day!  I ran across a cartoon the other day showing a man and women sitting across from each other over a cup of coffee and the caption read: “I know I should stop whining and complaining . . . but it’s taken me years to get this good at it.” (Randy Glasbergen)

This in turn prompted me to consult my copy of The Highly Selective Thesaurus for the Extraordinarily Literate by Eugene Ehrlich to see what other words could be used for complain or complaining.

The result:
Complaining (adj.): captious, carping, caviling, petulant, querulous, testy.
Complaint (n.): gravamen, jeremiad, plaint.

And, while I’m at it, here is a wonderful quotation about complaints.
“Excuses and complaints are signs of a dreamless life” (Bangambiki Habyarimana)

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

