Amazing Adjectives, Number One!

Several years ago I ran across a book entitled The Highly Selective Dictionary for the Extraordinarily Literate by Eugene Ehrlich.  I have been using this book to introduce some amazing vocabulary words in my blog.  I more recently discovered that Mr. Ehrlich has written a couple of other books (The Highly Selective Thesaurus for the Extraordinarily Literate and The Highly Selective Dictionary of Golden Adjectives for the Extraordinarily Literate) that I will now be tapping for additional blog content.  Today I will start my series for the adjectives.  Enjoy!

abstergent

\ ab-stur-juh nt \, adjective;

1. cleansing
2. purgative

“Even after using multiple applications of an abstergent substance, the stain remained.”
Source: http://www.dictionary.com and The Highly Selective Dictionary of Golden Adjectives for the Extraordinarily Literate by Eugene Ehrlich.
Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

