Let’s Pretend!

Imagination is a wonderful thing.  I remember countless hours of playing make-believe or “let’s pretend,” with my brothers to pass the time during many a day.  I even tried my hand at acting in an occasional play/dramatic production (elementary school, high school, and junior college).  More recently I’ve been involved in role-playing during training exercises.  And while I have no aspirations to become an actor or pursue this as a career, it has always been a source of just plain fun.  Here are some quotations by true actors on what acting actually is . . . to them.

“What acting really is, is pretending — while you’re pretending you’re not pretending.”  (Ted Danson)

“Acting is all about honesty.   If you can fake that, you’ve got it made.”  (George Burns)

“I love acting.  It’s so much more real than life.”  (Oscar Wilde)

Source: Oxymoronica by Dr. Mardy Grothe

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

