Back in the Groove!

Discipline, consistency, persistence . . . this has been the last six weeks as I have slowly regained my motivation and my stick-to-it-iveness with an exercise/diet program.  I started from scratch/ground zero in mid-June having gone more than a year-and-a-half between regular exercise, and boy, was it challenging, but it was time.  I’ve been able to maintain my focus now for several weeks and feel as though I’m truly back in my exercise groove.  I’ve been alternating my workouts with running, speed walking, and bicycling (and occasional weight workouts), and I feel great.  I’ve also change my diet a bit and have cut out a lot of the sugars and carbohydrates that I had come to love — they are now just the occasional reward.  Not only do I feel good, but I’ve dropped some of my unwanted pounds as well and I couldn’t be more pleased with the result.  It’s good to be back.  I may not get back to the fitness levels I possessed in my late 30s early 40s, but any improvement over my current levels is better than nothing.   My goal now: to stay in the groove while on vacation and traveling.  Wish me luck!  (What, me worry?  Piece of cake, right?)

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

