Taking Art to a New Level!

Up the hillside!  And, while it may only be a coat of paint, it is transforming the living environment of the Santa Marta neighborhood in Rio de Janeiro.  Thirty-four (34) buildings have thus far received this facelift which in turn is lifting the pride in, and the self-esteem of, the community in this poverty-stricken and crime-ridden shanty town.  There are plans to paint an entire favela if enough funding/donations can be raised.

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Taking Art to a New Level!”

  1. SMR International » Slums Do Not Have to Be Bleak Says:

    […] I’m impressed with what’s going on in Rio de Janeiro, as reported by my friend Tom Rink on his blog. […]

  2. Guy St. Clair Says:

    Thanks, Tom. And the topic certainly resonates with my recent work, so I’ve taken the liberty to post it to my personal blog and to the SMR corporate blog. Appreciate your raising awareness about this important topic. All the best, Guy

  3. Tom Rink Says:

    My pleasure, Guy. Thanks for re-posting!

Leave a comment