Archive for June 10th, 2014

Carrots Au Gratin!

June 10, 2014

I have been extremely remiss . . .  I thought I had posted this recipe a couple of years ago, but alas, I had not.  This is one of my absolutely favorite ways to prepare carrots and I make them as often as possible.   And, as leftovers go, they reheat easily and are just as delicious the second time around.

Carrots Au Gratin

1 pound carrots (I use the baby carrots)
1 can cream of celery soup
1 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese
2 Tablespoons of butter
1/4 cup bread crumbs

Cut the baby carrots into quarters lengthwise and cook in a saucepan of water on the stove until tender (about 40-45 minutes).

Meanwhile in an oven safe casserole dish, combine the celery soup and cheese and mix well (I spray the inside of the dish with cooking spray).

Once the carrots are cooked, remove from the heat and drain.

Return the empty saucepan to the stove and add the butter.  Once the butter is melted, add the breadcrumbs and mix well.

Add the drained carrots to the soup and cheese mixture and stir until combined.  Top with the breadcrumbs.

Bake at 350 degrees for 35 minutes.

Enjoy!