Archive for July 2nd, 2023

The Road Home!

July 2, 2023

Here is a painting that I acquired from the Royce Myers Gallery during an exhibit in the fall of 2021. The title: The Road Home, the artist: Jean Richardson, the medium: acrylic, the size: 60″ x 30.” I have visited and been in and out of the gallery for several years now and have seen a great many works by Jean, but none of them spoke to me like this one and I was delighted to be able to finally add on of her works to my collection. I guess it was inevitable. I actually was fortunate to be able to meet the artist during an exhibit reception and really felt a strong connection to her artist statement: “The image of the horse is the perfect vehicle to express my true subjects; motion and energy. The horse as a real being is lovely in itself and I enjoy the power, the speed, and the physical beauty of the animal. My paintings, however, take this real image and make it a symbol. The horse as a metaphor for the human spirit; unbridled, striving, sometimes heroic, often restless, full of energy, floating above us, calling us to other realms.”