Archive for November 6th, 2015

A Different Kind of Comedy!

November 6, 2015

Happy Friday!  I’m a real fan of comedy.  I have always been of the opinion that life was too short to worry about taking too many things too seriously.  So, when I consulted my copy of The Cynic’s Dictionary I found the following definitions for “comedian,” “comedy,” and “comics.”  Enjoy!

Comedian
“The goof the relays the olden gag.”  (Herbert Prochnow)

Comedy
“Emotional hang-gliding.”  (Robin Williams)

“Society protecting itself with a smile.”  (J.B. Priestley)

“A funny way of being serious.”  (Peter Ustinov)

“The last refuge of the non-conformist mind.”  (Gilbert Seldes)

“Like sodomy, an unnatural act.”   (Marty Feldman)

Comics
“Famously tragic people.”  (Marlon Brando)

Source: The Cynic’s Dictionary by Aubrey Dillon-Malone